Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

History

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases for History

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

History Books

Conventional and Unconventional War

Offers a comprehensive history of warfare since 1648, covering conventional and unconventional operations and demonstrating how most modern wars have been hybrid affairs that involved both. Looks at a broad range of conflicts to explore the societal forces that have shaped wars.

Dictionary of American History

The 3rd edition of this classic work has been updated completely for a new generation of students and scholars. Recognizing that the ways in which history is understood and interpreted have changed drastically over the past six decades, the editors have revised articles and added many new entries. Gender, race, and social-history perspectives have been added to many entries for the first time. Maps and illustrations are included throughout the text.

Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society

Presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare.

Encyclopedia of European Social History

Covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. Includes more than 230 articles on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health.

Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity

Spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity.

Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America

Provides basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States.

Encyclopedia of the Great Depression

Encompasses nearly two decades of American history, beginning with the farm crisis of the mid-1920s, through the 1929 stock market crash, the gradual recovery during the 1930s with Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and World War II. Features entries on depression-era politics, government, business, economics, literature, the arts, society and culture.

Encyclopedia of War and American Society

Examines the numerous ways wars affect societies. Covers a wide range of general thematic categories, issues, and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the U.S. engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena. Focuses mostly on the last 100 years to give more coverage on this often neglected wartime era.

Encyclopedia of Women in the American West

Captures the lives of more than 150 women who made their mark from the mid-1800s to the present, contextualizing their experiences and contributions to American society.

The Middle Ages

Covers an array of topics on the Middle Ages including daily life, art and architecture, science, religion, politics, women's issues, and more.

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas

A survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others.

The Renaissance : An Encyclopedia for Students

Covers Renaissance-era topics, such as Florence; Galileo; heraldry, humanism; Medici family; opera; piracy; rhetoric; Shakespeare; Spanish armada; Leonardo da Vinci; and many others.

Theory in Social and Cultural Anthropology

Features authoritative entries on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage.

The Value of a Dollar : Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2004

This handbook provides records of the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present. For students engaged in historical research and readers who simply wants to know what life was like during the time of his or her ancestors.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018-