LibGuides: History: Newspapers

Why newspapers?

Newspapers can serve as a primary resource for reactions, opinions, and reporting on topics. Use our databases below to look for newspapers written during the time period or for the audience you are writing about.

Historic Newspapers

Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876) This link opens in a new window Covers 1690-1876. Searchable database of newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia, focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries. Includes African American newspapers covering history, culture & daily life in the 19th and 20th centuries.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window Cover-to-cover digitized African American newspapers from 1827 to 1998

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (1789-1963) Database of America's historic newspapers from 1789-1963. Includes the U.S. Newspaper Directory covering American newspapers published between 1690 to present.

New York Times (Historical) (1851-2015) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1851 to 4 years ago. See "New York Times (Current)" for articles published in the last 4 years.
Philadelphia Inquirer (Historical) (1860-2001) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1860 - 2001. Digitization in progress. When complete, coverage will extend through 2009.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (Historical) (1786-2003) This link opens in a new window Coverage: 1786 - 2003 (a few articles missing). Digitization in progress. When complete, coverage will extend through 2008.

Google News Archive Search

Microfilm and Archives

Even more newspapers and periodicals are available in microfilm. Contact a librarian for help locating sources and using our film reader.

For historic York College student newspapers, visit us in Archives and Special Collections.

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

History

Why newspapers?

Historic Newspapers

Microfilm and Archives