Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

York College logo

Geography

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


  

Ebook Databases

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of American Urban History

With contributions from leading academics in their fields, this authoritative resource offers an interdisciplinary approach by covering topics from economics, geography, anthropology, politics, and sociology. Addresses the rise of urban America with a focus on the 20th century in the United States.

Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science

Covers the essence of this new field in an easily understood but detailed style. Includes contributions from some of the best recognized scholars in GIScience, as well as contributions from experts in GIS' supporting disciplines who explore how their disciplinary perspectives are expanded within the context of GIScience.

Encyclopedia of Geography

Reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. Covers a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography

Written by an international team of leading authorities, this source offers a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize a diverse field. This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches.

Encyclopedia of India

Authoritative source encompassing the history, cultures, geography, and religions of India from ancient times to the present day.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd ed.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia

Surveys modern Asia, defined as extending from Japan in the east to Turkey in the west, and from Kazakhstan in the north to Indonesia in the south. Presents entries covering such subjects as countries, cities, regions, natural features, religions, social issues, languages, people, events, customs, politics, and economics.

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures

Describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.

New Encyclopedia of Africa

Addresses the entire history of African cultures from the pharaohs and the ancient civilizations of the south through the colonial era to the emergence of 53 independent countries, some of them newly emergent in world commerce and others deep in conflict. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, 2nd ed.

Articles written by scholars provide information and insight into the contemporary debate on poverty. Explores poverty in various regions of the world.

Directories and Guides

Cities of the United States

This reference book brings together a wide range of hard-to-locate data to answer questions concerning American cities. Each volume focuses on a different geographic region: South, West, Midwest and Northeast.

Cities of the World

A compilation of current information on cultural, geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018