Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases for Criminal Justice

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Criminal Justice Books

Crime and Punishment in America

Covers some of the most hotly contested topics in crime and criminal justice, including proposed sentencing and prison reforms, controversial developments like Stand Your Ground laws, and Supreme Court decisions.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice

An interdisciplinary source that addresses not only law but also sociology, psychology, history and economics. Entries vary widely from abortion to rape and from family violence to wiretapping, offering a mirror of issues dominating today's headlines. Includes essays on topics such as stalking, hate crimes, and HIV.

Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment

Essays on a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment with a unique focus on the multi/interdisciplinary and international aspects of these topics and historical perspectives on crime and punishment around the world.

Encyclopedia of Criminological Theory

Good source for contemporary criminological theory. It examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in a context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. Topics include contexts and concepts in criminological theory, the social construction of crime, policy implications of theory, diversity and intercultural contexts, conflict theory, rational choice theories, conservative criminology, feminist theory, and more.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence

From assisted suicide and battered women to human trafficking and sex offenders, this guide provides an excellent overview of research on interpersonal violence. Also provides research-supported entries on violence as a global problem in the form of war, genocide, terrorism, and rape of women as a weapon of war.

Encyclopedia of Law Enforcement

Offers a comprehensive, critical, and descriptive examination of all facets of law enforcement on the state and local, federal and national, and international stages. Provides articles on the practice and theory of policing in an historical and contemporary framework. Treats subjects that are particular to the area of state and local, federal and national, and international policing.

Encyclopedia of Murder and Violent Crime

Comprehensive encyclopedia containing a wealth of material on killing and other violent behavior, as well as detailed information on a host of criminal cases from local decisions to Supreme Court rulings. Includes serial murderers, infamous crimes, and their investigations.

Encyclopedia of Prisons and Correctional Facilities

Provides a critical overview of penal institutions within a historical and contemporary framework.
Contains biographies, articles describing important legal statutes, and detailed and authoritative descriptions of the major prisons in the United States.

Encyclopedia of United States National Security

Provides accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when, and where national security has evolved. In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses, provides a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security. Provides interdisciplinary views of national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 2nd ed.

Gathers history, definitions, examples, investigation, prosecution, assessments, and challenges about a variety of white-collar crimes. Provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions.

Forensic Science, 2nd edition

Covers theories, techniques, and applications of the various forensic sciences. Includes essays on types of investigations, investigative techniques, evidence, and specialized equipment; types of injuries, diseases, and other medical conditions; the role of forensic science in the American legal system; historical subjects, including overviews of ancient criminal cases as well as examinations of high-profile modern cases; and depictions of forensics in the media.

Introduction to Cybercrime : Computer Crimes, Laws, and Policing in the 21st Century

Comprehensive summary of the history, modern developments, and efforts to combat cybercrime in various forms at all levels of government―international, national, state, and local. Includes wide range of topics from identity theft to copyright infringement.

Juvenile Justice : A Reference Handbook, 2nd ed.

Presents historical and contemporary data in an easy-to-understand fashion that survey the complex history of the juvenile justice system and allow readers to better comprehend the key issues.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism

Provides detailed articles on the who, what, where, when, and why of terrorism, including definitions of key terms, famous cases, biographies, laws, and law enforcement techniques. Features photographs, maps, and charts; lists of solved and unsolved cases; known extremist and terrorist groups; a chronology of incidents in the United States; and a directory of organizations.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018