LibGuides: ART204 and ART205: Survey of Western Art I &amp; II: Using YCP Summon Search

If you're taking a look for the first time, Summon is a great place to start.

It has a little bit of everything!

Research Tools: What are you looking for?

Summon is a tool to help you locate articles, ebooks, and more. Begin your research here!

Summon Advanced Search
Summon Tutorial A video tutorial on how to use Summon to find ebooks and articles for your research.
Fixing Common Database Issues Got a link to something in our databases that doesn't work? Follow these steps to troubleshoot and resolve the issue: 1. Log into MyYCP 2. Search for the title of your source in Summon. 3. Switch browsers (Chrome and Firefox work best) 4. Make sure the URL for your link begins with "https://ezproxy.ycp.edu:8443/login?url=" (without quotes). Otherwise, contact a librarian for more help at: https://Library.YCP.edu/Ask

Why use Summon before Google Scholar?

Summon lets you limit your searches to specific kinds of sources (books, journals, magazines, etc) and provides options to filter results by both subject and discipline.

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.

Catalog Advanced Search
Library Catalog Tutorial In this tutorial we will be talking about how to use the catalog to find print books, dvds, and print periodicals.

Find materials easier and limit contact by placing a hold on items in our catalog. We'll email you when they are ready to pick up at the main desk.

Ebooks

Use these databases to find ebooks available to read online 24/7!

Fixing Common Database Issues Got a link to something in our databases that doesn't work? Follow these steps to troubleshoot and resolve the issue: 1. Log into MyYCP 2. Search for the title of your source in Summon. 3. Switch browsers (Chrome and Firefox work best) 4. Make sure the URL for your link begins with "https://ezproxy.ycp.edu:8443/login?url=" (without quotes). Otherwise, contact a librarian for more help at: https://Library.YCP.edu/Ask

Can't find what you're looking for?

If you know the name of a book or article our library doesn't own, you can request a copy from another school or library using interlibrary loans.

Databases collect articles and other sources for you to use in research. Choose one related to your field in order to find articles written by experts and professionals.

A-Z Databases Click here to see our full list of databases along with descriptions and filters to find the ones that fit your research.
Our Journals List Journals are where experts and professionals publish their work. If you're looking for a particular journal issue or want to browse ones that the library subscribes to, try our List of Journals instead.
News Articles Find links to campus, local, national, and global newspapers and articles.
Fixing Common Database Issues Got a link to something in our databases that doesn't work? Follow these steps to troubleshoot and resolve the issue: 1. Log into MyYCP 2. Search for the title of your source in Summon. 3. Switch browsers (Chrome and Firefox work best) 4. Make sure the URL for your link begins with "https://ezproxy.ycp.edu:8443/login?url=" (without quotes). Otherwise, contact a librarian for more help at: https://Library.YCP.edu/Ask

Popular Databases

The most frequently-used databases

Academic Search Complete

Business Source Complete

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

CQ Researcher

EBSCOhost - All Databases

JSTOR

Opposing Viewpoints

PsycINFO

Can't find what you're looking for?

If you know the name of a book or article our library doesn't own, you can request a copy from another school or library using our free interlibrary loan service.

Don't know how to start your research? Check out our research guides, or choose a subject below for information on how to do research in your field or discipline.

Creating a Research Plan Tutorial In this tutorial you will learn to: Create a research plan and understand the role of various kinds of sources in research.

Can't find what you're looking for?

If you know the name of a book or article our library doesn't own, you can request a copy from another school or library using interlibrary loans.

Can't find something on our website? Use this option to search for library pages and guides!

Neat Tricks: Use Summon to Find Books!

After you do your search, limit to Books/Ebooks. We have lots of art books online!

Here's another idea:

If you want more books, look for a checkbox that says Look for results beyond your library's collection Click it!.

When you see more books that say Citation Online, you've found books you can request from another library!

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

ART204 and ART205: Survey of Western Art I & II: Using YCP Summon Search

Research Tools: What are you looking for?

Why use Summon before Google Scholar?

Ebooks

Can't find what you're looking for?

Popular Databases

Can't find what you're looking for?

Can't find what you're looking for?

Neat Tricks: Use Summon to Find Books!