LibGuides: ART204 and ART205: Survey of Western Art I &amp; II: How to Cite

OK, I'm exaggerating a bit.

But do you enjoy citing sources?

Let's see if we can make this as painless as possible!

MLA - Modern Language Association

MLA Format

MLA is the most common citation format for research in the humanities, such as literature, media studies, languages, and cultural studies. However, it is also used in a number of other classes as well.

Paper Format This resource contains a sample MLA paper that adheres to the 2016 updates.
In-text Citations Guidelines for referring to the works of others in your text using MLA style. (see left-hand column for even more detailed info)
Integrating Quotations A guide to parts of quotation integration and proper punctuation in MLA format.
Works Cited Page Examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the Works Cited page. (see left-hand column for even more detailed info)

Video Guides

MLA Tutorial
An interactive overview of MLA style. You can leave voice questions/comments that Writing Center staff will respond to!

MLA Handbook by The Modern Language; The Modern Language Association of America Relied on by generations of writers, the MLA Handbook is published by the Modern Language Association and is the only official, authorized book on MLA style. The new, ninth edition builds on the MLA's unique approach to documenting sources using a template of core elements--facts, common to most sources, like author, title, and publication date--that allows writers to cite any type of work, from books, e-books, and journal articles in databases to song lyrics, online images, social media posts, dissertations, and more. With this focus on source evaluation as the cornerstone of citation, MLA style promotes the skills of information and digital literacy so crucial today. The many new and updated chapters make this edition the comprehensive, go-to resource for writers of research papers, and anyone citing sources, from business writers, technical writers, and freelance writers and editors to student writers and the teachers and librarians working with them. Intended for a variety of classroom contexts--middle school, high school, and college courses in composition, communication, literature, language arts, film, media studies, digital humanities, and related fields--the ninth edition of the MLA Handbook offers *New chapters on grammar, punctuation, capitalization, spelling, numbers, italics, abbreviations, and principles of inclusive language *Guidelines on setting up research papers in MLA format with updated advice on headings, lists, and title pages for group project *Revised, comprehensive, step-by-step instructions for creating a list of works cited in MLA format that are easier to learn and use than ever before *A new appendix with hundreds of example works-cited-list entries by publication format, including websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more *Detailed examples of how to find publication information for a variety of sources *Newly revised explanations of in-text citations, including comprehensive advice on how to cite multiple authors of a single work *Detailed guidance on footnotes and endnotes *Instructions on quoting, paraphrasing, summarizing, and avoiding plagiarism *A sample essay in MLA format *Annotated bibliography examples *Numbered sections throughout for quick navigation *Advanced tips for professional writers and scholars
Call Number: LB2369 .M52 2021
ISBN: 9781603293518
Publication Date: 2021-04-06

Available upon request at the front desk.

Chicago/Turabian

Chicago

The Chicago Manual of style is most often used for citations in business, history, and the fine arts. However, other classes and fields may use it as well.

Paper Format This resource contains the Notes and Bibliography (NB) sample paper for the Chicago Manual of Style 17th edition.
Citations: In-text and Bibliography Page The following provides examples to illustrate the author-date system. Each example of a reference list entry is accompanied by an example of a corresponding in-text citation.

Turabian

Turabian is a form of Chicago Manual of Style meant specifically for use by college and high school students who are writing papers, theses, and dissertations that are not intended for publication. If your professor asks you to use Chicago style for your research, ask which kind you need.

Turabian Citation Guide A quick guide on proper Turabian style citation offered by the Chicago University Press.

How do you cite an image in MLA?

Don't forget to cite any images you include in your research project.

In MLA Format, you need to include:

artist's name.
name of the work or painting
date of the artwork
current location (usually museum name and city)

Example:

Landseer, Edwin Henry. Dignity and Impudence, 1839. Tate, London.

If you are citing a work of art online or from a book, I'd recommend using this more detailed guide from Academy of Art University:

How-To Guide: Image Citation

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

ART204 and ART205: Survey of Western Art I & II: How to Cite