Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

Psychology

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Aging

Encompasses all aspects of aging, covering a variety of disciplines including biology, medicine, economics, law psychology, sociology and history, and also explores related issues such as religion, spirituality, and ethics. Also provides a topical outline and primary source documents.

Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science

The Encyclopedia of Applied Developmental Science is an important and timely contribution to this burgeoning field. This four-volume set is the authoritative source that encompasses the entire range of concepts and topics involved in the study of applied developmental science. Its contents and levels have broad appeal for those interested in how the application of knowledge about human development can be used to enhance the lives of individuals, families, and communities.

Encyclopedia of Behavior Modification and Cognitive Behavior Therapy

Provides a thorough examination of the components of behavior modification, behavior therapy, cognitive behavior therapy, and applied behavior analysis for both child and adult populations in a variety of settings. Entries on assessment, ethical concerns, theoretical differences, and the unique contributions of key figures in the movement (including B. F. Skinner, Joseph Wolpe, Aaron T. Beck, and many others) are also included.

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol and Addictive Behavior

Explores the social, medical, legal and political issues related to drugs and alcohol and associated behaviors. Includes emerging topics and developments in the many fields of addiction studies.

Encyclopedia of Evaluation

Authoritative source covering the who, what, where, why, and how of the field of evaluation. Covering professional practice as well as academia, it chronicles the development of the field, its history, key figures, theories, approaches, and goals. Entries capture the essence of evaluation as a practice (methods, techniques, roles, people), as a profession (professional obligations, shared knowledge, ethical imperatives, events, places) and as a discipline (theories and models of evaluation, ontological and epistemological issues).

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior

Gathers together in a single resource topics covering all aspects of the interdisciplinary field of health and behavior, highlighting the links between science and practice. Contains topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.

Encyclopedia of Human Development

Focuses on the growth and development of the human being including physical, social, psychological, and emotional development. Includes countless topics that range from charting the emotional attachment of an infant to his or her parents and its long-term effects on well-being, media violence and adolescents' behavior, or factors moderating the natural decline in physical and mental abilities associated with aging. Provides perspectives from the fields of psychology, individual and family studies, education and other related fields.

Encyclopedia of Human Relationships

Offers an interdisciplinary view of all types of human associations-friends, lovers, spouses, roommates, coworkers, teammates, parents and children, cousins, siblings, acquaintances, neighbors, business associates, and so forth. Reviews theories, concepts, and empirical findings about human relationships.

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology

Authoritative guide that synthesizes the dynamic field of multicultural psychology. Includes entries on a broad array of issues and covers the breadth of psychology viewed through the lens of the racial and ethnic minority experience. Addresses culture across a broad spectrum of psychological perspectives and includes topics that are relevant to social psychology, cognitive psychology, environmental psychology, cross-cultural psychology, and clinical psychology.

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment

Definitive resource on topics addressing the field of applied psychological science, specifically psychological assessment, essential for describing, diagnosis, predicting, explaining or changing the behavior of all subjects under examination. Entries includes a general conceptual and methodological overview and a section on relevant assessment devices.

Encyclopedia of School Psychology

Features research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Entries by expert authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health, 4th ed.

Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

Covers the entire spectrum of psychology, including: notable people, theories and terms; landmark case studies and experiments; applications of psychology in advertising, medicine and sports; and career information.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd ed.

Offers a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. Articles include workplace-related topics such as productivity and employee morale.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research. Covers every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, and the role of theory in qualitative research.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods

Offers an all-encompassing education in the ways of social science researchers. Written to be accessible to general readers, entries do not require any advanced knowledge or experience to understand the purposes and basic principles of any of the methods.

Handbooks and Guides

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5

The DSM is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. DSM-5 is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process--from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication.

SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research

Provides comprehensive coverage of the qualitative methods, strategies, and research issues in psychology.

SAGE Handbook of Research Management

Geared towards helping those new to managing and leading larger-scale research projects in the social sciences and humanities.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018-