Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science & Government

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Central Intelligence Agency : A Documentary History

Includes documentary selections that guide readers through the CIA's shrouded history and allow readers to sift through the evidence for themselves.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, 2nd ed.

Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures. Also includes a chronology

Encyclopedia of Evaluation

Authoritative source covering the who, what, where, why, and how of the field of evaluation. Covering professional practice as well as academia, it chronicles the development of the field, its history, key figures, theories, approaches, and goals. Entries capture the essence of evaluation as a practice (methods, techniques, roles, people), as a profession (professional obligations, shared knowledge, ethical imperatives, events, places) and as a discipline (theories and models of evaluation, ontological and epistemological issues).

Encyclopedia of Governance

Provides a one-stop reference for the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. This comprehensive resource concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of Political Science, Public Administration, Political Economy, and Sociology.

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd ed.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

Encyclopedia of Politics : The Left and the Right

Contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2).

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd ed.

Covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict and the United Nations involvement in the region. Each country in the region is reviewed, detailing its population, economy and government.

Encyclopedia of United States National Security

Provides accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when, and where national security has evolved. In addition to presenting historical facts and analyses, provides a comprehensive introduction to some of the more complicated and abstract questions concerning world politics and national security. Provides interdisciplinary views of national security from historical, economic, political, and technological perspectives.

Encyclopedia of U.S.-Latin American Relations

Details the political, economic, and military interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean, and South America.

Encyclopedia of War and American Society

Examines the numerous ways wars affect societies. Covers a wide range of general thematic categories, issues, and topics that address not only the geopolitical effects of war, but also show how the U.S. engagement in national and international conflicts has affected the social and cultural arena. Focuses mostly on the last 100 years to give more coverage on this often neglected wartime era.

Major Acts of Congress

Examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.

Terrorism and Political Violence

Introduces key issues in contemporary studies on terrorism. Drawing on the expertise of members of the Terrorism and Political Violence Association network, explores topics such as drone warfare, state violence, children and political violence, cyber-terrorism and de-radicalisation. Features case studies drawn from a range of international examples.

Women in American Politics : History and Milestones

Provides perspective and background on the events and situations that have surrounded women's political activities. Offers analysis on women's political achievements in the United States, including the campaign to secure nation-wide suffrage, pioneer women state officeholders, women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices, and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018