Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide facts, figures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.
Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.
The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.
Explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more.
Comprehensive source for all aspects of poetry.
Comic book studies has developed as a solid academic discipline, becoming an increasingly vibrant field in the United States and globally. A growing number of dissertations, monographs, and edited books publish every year on the subject, while world comics represent the fastest-growing sector of publishing. The Oxford Handbook of Comic Book Studies looks at the field systematically, examining the history and evolution of the genre from a global perspective. This includes a discussion of how comic books are built out of shared aesthetic systems such as literature, painting, drawing, photography, and film. The Handbook brings together readable, jargon-free essays written by established and emerging scholars from diverse geographic, institutional, gender, and national backgrounds. In particular, it explores how the term "global comics" has been defined, as well the major movements and trends that will drive the field in the years to come. Each essay will help readers understand comic books as a storytelling form grown within specific communities, and will also show how these forms exist within what can be considered a world system of comics.
Provides in-depth commentary on characters, themes, and the historical and social context of 300 most-studied literary works, including novels, plays, poems, speeches, and short stories, both international and American.
Supplement covers 100 titles in addition to the original set. Each entry examines both the historical setting of the literary work and the historical events taking place at the time the work was written.
A guide to the selection of books for children. Part 1 applies reading development theories of the 20th and 21st century to the selection of specific books and covers the characteristics of the various genres of children's literature, including classics and award winners. Includes books for special situations. Part 2 provides ideas for book promotion and addresses selecting books for children from ethnic groups, books for fathers and sons, etc.
York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018-
