LibGuides: Law: Books/Background

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide facts, figures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Using Background Sources in Research Learn how to find and use background sources to choose research topics and give your research direction.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.

Catalog Advanced Search
Using the Library Catalog Tutorial In this tutorial we will be talking about how to use the catalog to find print books, dvds, and print periodicals.

Ebook Databases

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

American Law Yearbook 2006 An annual supplement to West's Encyclopedia of American Law that updates and expands the content with new topics, updates, biographies of prominent figures and government appointees, and other features. Each year's edition contains the full U.S.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Includes subject encyclopedias, reference sources, and other ebooks.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window 480,000+ ebooks in all disciplines
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window 20,000+ ebooks on wide range of subjects dating from 1913 to 2007. Each title limited to one person at a time.

Case Law

Harvard's Caselaw Access Project Book-published U.S. case law digitized by Harvard Law School Library. Scope includes all state courts, federal courts, and U.S. territorial courts. Date coverage: 1658 – June 2018.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Gale Encyclopedia of American Law, 3rd ed.

Rev. ed. of West's Encyclopedia of American Law (2nd ed. 2005). Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law, 3rd ed.

This resource fills a much-needed gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens. Includes brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.

National Survey of State Laws, 6th ed.

Helps users make quick, state-by-state comparisons of state laws -- how they differ and how they're similar -- for a range of relevant subjects. Entries are then referenced to a specific code or statute enabling the reader to access the detailed text of the law elsewhere.

Directories and Guides

Major Acts of Congress

Examines landmark pieces of legislation, explaining the historical factors that led to the proposal of each act, looking at the adoption process and assessing each act's impact on American life. All aspects of legislation are covered, including the National Prohibition Act, the Civil Rights Act, the Family and Medical Leave Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Freedom of Information Act and much more.

State Constitutions of the United States, 2nd ed.

Collects, explains, and offers comparison of each of the fifty state constitutions. Its in-depth explorations reveal individual state priorities, the significance of state constitutions and their impact on issues that affect the day-to-day lives of citizens.

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

Law