Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender & Women's Studies

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases for Gender & Women's Studies

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence

From assisted suicide and battered women to human trafficking and sex offenders, this guide provides an excellent overview of research on interpersonal violence. Also provides research-supported entries on violence as a global problem in the form of war, genocide, terrorism, and rape of women as a weapon of war.

Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America

Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the U.S., presented through over 500 alphabetically arranged entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.

Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior

Gathers together in a single resource topics covering all aspects of the interdisciplinary field of health and behavior, highlighting the links between science and practice. Contains topics such as physical activity, stress and health, smoking, pain management, social support and health, cardiovascular health, health promotion, and HIV/AIDS.

Encyclopedia of Women in the American West

Captures the lives of more than 150 women who made their mark from the mid-1800s to the present, contextualizing their experiences and contributions to American society.

Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender History

Covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America. Takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events.

Women in American Politics : History and Milestones

Provides perspective and background on the events and situations that have surrounded women's political activities. Offers analysis on women's political achievements in the United States, including the campaign to secure nation-wide suffrage, pioneer women state officeholders, women first elected to U.S. Congress, governorships, mayoralties, and other offices, and women first appointed as Cabinet officials, judges, and ambassadors.

Handbooks and Guides

The Oxford Handbook of Feminist Philosophy

This exciting new Handbook offers a comprehensive overview of the contemporary state of the field in feminist philosophy. The editors' introduction and forty-five essays cover feminist critical engagements with philosophy and adjacent scholarly fields, as well as feminist approaches to current debates and crises across the world. Authors cover topics ranging from the ways in which feminist philosophy attends to other systems of oppression, and the gendered, racialized, and classed assumptions embedded in philosophical concepts, to feminist perspectives on prominent subfields of philosophy. The first section contains chapters that explore feminist philosophical engagement with mainstream and marginalized histories and traditions, while the second section parses feminist philosophy's contributions to numerous philosophical subfields, for example metaphysics and bioethics. A third section explores what feminist philosophy can illuminate about crucial moral and political issues of identity, gender, the body, autonomy, prisons, among numerous others. The Handbook concludes with the field's engagement with other theories and movements, including trans studies, queer theory, critical race, theory, postcolonial theory, and decolonial theory. The volume provides a rigorous but accessible resource for students and scholars who are interested in feminist philosophy, and how feminist philosophers situate their work in relation to the philosophical mainstream and other disciplines. Above all it aims to showcase the rich diversity of subject matter, approach, and method among feminist philosophers.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018