Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide facts, figures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.
Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.
The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.
Focuses on the importance of talk in classrooms. Presents core ideas from linguistics that call attention to roles and what lies behind these roles in terms of representation. Provides ways to help learners gain a curiosity and fascination with language.
Offers practical solutions that focus on relationship building, curriculum relevance, and academic success. Emphasizes the prevention of problems by helping students to understand each other, work well together, and develop responsibility for their own actions. Also includes intervention strategies for handling common and severe problems in dignified ways.
From Internet censorship to sex and violence on television and in video games to debates over rock lyrics, the effect of media on children and adolescents is one of the most widely debated issues in our society. This resource presents research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. It covers traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact-for good and ill-on children and adolescents. Provides cross-disciplinary coverage from the fields of psychology, education, media studies and communication, sociology, and public policy. Includes entries covering television, film, video games, the Internet, magazines, music, and more.
Authoritative resource covering the many faces of disability as it pertains to daily experience. Includes primary source documents in the field of disability.
Defines and applies the best practices of contemporary continuing education designed for adults in corporate settings, graduate coursework, and similar learning environments. Written for a wide audience in the distance and continuing education field.
Offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Contains theories, research, terms, concepts, ideas, and histories on educational leadership and school administration as taught in preparation programs and practiced in schools and colleges today.
Examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them and presents them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. In addition to interpretations of long-established theories, this work offers essays on cutting-edge research and concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures.
Features research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Entries by expert authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
Covers broad spectrum of educational management in practice while providing insights into challenges facing educational leaders and the strategies, skills, and techniques needed to enhance administrative performance.
The Sociology Reference Guide series is designed to provide a solid foundation for the research of various sociological topics.
This Handbook takes readers through the foundational theories, functions, strategies, and approaches to qualitative research design, before showcasing how it negotiates different data and research environments and produces credible, actionable impact beyond the study. Containing contributions from over 90 top scholars from a range of social science disciplines, this Handbook is not just an anthology of different qualitative research designs and how/when to use them; it is a complete exploration of how and why these designs are shaped and how, why, and into what they are evolving. This is a valuable resource for Master's and PhD level students, faculty members, and researchers across a wide range of disciplines such as health, nursing, psychology, social work, sociology, and education.
Scholarships, Fellowships, And Loans profiles more than 7,300 scholarships, fellowships, loans, internships, work study, and other education-related financial aid available to high school students, undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, and professionals.
A guide to the selection of books for children. Part 1 applies reading development theories of the 20th and 21st century to the selection of specific books and covers the characteristics of the various genres of children's literature, including classics and award winners. Includes books for special situations. Part 2 provides ideas for book promotion and addresses selecting books for children from ethnic groups, books for fathers and sons, etc.
Guide to thousands of 2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Provides detailed descriptions, degree programs offered, scholarships, and occupational education programs.
York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018-
