Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide facts, figures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.
Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.
The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.
Journalism permeates our lives and shapes our thoughts in ways that we have long taken for granted. Whether it is National Public Radio in the morning or the lead story on the Today show, the morning newspaper headlines, up-to-the-minute Internet news, grocery store tabloids, Timemagazine in our mailbox, or the nightly news on television, journalism pervades our lives. The Encyclopedia of Journalismcovers all significant dimensions of journalism, such as print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; and history, technology, legal issues and court cases, ownership, and economics. The encyclopedia will consist of approximately 500 signed entries from scholars, experts, and journalists, under the direction of lead editor Gregory Borchard of University of Nevada, Las Vegas.
This resource presents research and ready-to-use facts on the media's interaction with children and adolescents. It covers traditional and electronic media and their controversial impact-for good and ill-on children and adolescents. Provides cross-disciplinary coverage from the fields of psychology, education, media studies and communication, sociology, and public policy. Includes entries covering television, film, video games, the Internet, magazines, music, and more.
Comprehensive overview of universal modes of communication, the media used to communicate, theories of communication and their implications, careers in communications and information, and biographies of notable figures in the field.
Provides a comprehensive overview of contemporary communication theory. More than 300 entries on topics related to paradigms, traditions, schools, metatheory, methodology, inquiry, and applications and contexts.
Covers all significant dimensions of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism; U.S. and international perspectives; history; technology; legal issues and court cases; ownership; and economics.
With contributions from an international group of scholars, indepth articles cover topics such as broadband, content filtering, cyberculture, cyberethics, digital divide, freenet, MP3, privacy, telemedicine, viruses, and wireless networks,
Authoritative compilation covering all aspects of public relations serving students in business, communication, and journalism.
A best practice guide to public relations planning, research and evaluation. Provides tools to demonstrate the value of PR campaigns, illustrations on international case studies, and containing interviews with leading PR practitioners.
Links models and theories of strategic management to the PR function and discusses how globalization and the Internet have changed organizational PR strategy.
York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018-
