Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business

Why books?

Books are often the best place to start your research. They help provide factsfigures, and basic background information on your topic, things everyone in this discipline should already know.

Books are also a great place to find ideas for your research topic. Use headings, bold words, and chapter titles to discover what research is available in this field.

Search for Books

The catalog connects you to the physical books, dvds, and magazines our library has to offer.
 


Ebook Databases for Business

Find ebooks to read 24/7 using these databases.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

AMA Dictionary of Business and Management

Covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business, including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business.

Encyclopedia of American Industries, 7th ed.

Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business. It covers manufacturing, agriculture, mining, utilities, construction, wholesale, retail, transportation, information, finance, insurance, real estate, public administration, and service industries. Classified by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), this edition includes an essay for every one of the 1,057 2017 NAICS codes.

Encyclopedia of Business and Finance

Designed for the nonspecialist, this is a complete reference covering five general areas: finance and banking; accounting; marketing; management; and information systems. Drawing on practical professional expertise as well as that of noted scholars, the contributors include executives, government administrators and scholars from leading business programs from around the U.S..

Encyclopedia of Emerging Markets

This business encyclopedia provides articles offering rare insight into nations with social or business activity in the process of rapid growth and industrialization, as well as highlighting key emerging industries within those economies.

Encyclopedia of Global Brands, 2nd ed.

Contains entries written in case-study style that highlight interesting details, including how a product originated and was first marketed, how it developed commercially and how it fares today compared with its competitors and its own past history. Included are anecdotes pertaining to the famous, or infamous, marketing strategies and advertising campaigns that managed to capture viewers' attention.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Strategies

Explores marketing strategies for some of the top global and emerging brands from 2011-2013. Entries profile major product/service, mobile app, social media, brand development, packaging, and television strategies among other types. Each essay provides a situation analysis, information on the target market, marketing strategy & tactics, and the outcome. Can easily be utilized in an academic environment as case studies, or illustrative examples. Includes some international examples.

Encyclopedia of Management, 8th ed.

Covers numerous topics in management theories and applications, such as aggregate planning, benchmarking, logistics, diversification strategy, non-traditional work arrangements, performance measurement, productivity measures, supply chain management, and much more.

Encyclopedia of Public Relations, 2nd ed.

Authoritative compilation covering all aspects of public relations serving students in business, communication, and journalism.

Encyclopedia of Small Business, 3rd ed.

Provides entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. Contains detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business users, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning and more.

Encyclopedia of White-Collar and Corporate Crime, 2nd ed.

Gathers history, definitions, examples, investigation, prosecution, assessments, and challenges about a variety of white-collar crimes. Provides examples of persons, statutes, companies, and convictions.

Gale Encyclopedia of E-Commerce, 2nd ed.

Contains entries Internet commerce and addresses the concerns of those who want to join the ranks of the Internet business community. Has essays on topics related to the emerging world of e-commerce. Includes profiles of individuals and organizations considered to be the industry leaders and innovators and covers significant events, case studies and legal issues important to understanding the current e-commerce environment.

Gale Encyclopedia of U. S. Economic History, 2nd ed.

Designed to answer such key questions as: How has the U.S. Constitution shaped the economy of the United States? What were the consequences of Prohibition on consumers behavior? This title presents 1,000 entries, era overviews, event/movement profiles, biographies, business/industry profiled, geographic profiles, and more.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, 2nd ed.

Explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management. Includes an in-depth examination of current ethical affairs, such as the gender wage gap, the minimum wage debate, increasing income disparity, and the unparalleled level of debt in the U.S. and other countries.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society

Offers general, non-technical information for students and researchers in social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.

SAGE Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology, 2nd ed.

Offers a thorough overview of the cross-disciplinary field of industrial and organizational psychology for students, researchers, and professionals in the areas of psychology, business, management, and human resources. Articles include workplace-related topics such as productivity and employee morale.

SAGE Handbook of International Corporate and Public Affairs

Articles on the global public affairs discipline, with international coverage and a strong focus on emerging trends, as well as providing a comprehensive overview of the foundations and key aspects of the discipline.

Directories and Guides

Accounting Theory : Conceptual Issues in a Political and Economic Environment, 9th ed.

Comprehensive text on accounting theory. Provides a critical overview of accounting and touches on the financial issues in economic and political contexts, providing readers with an understanding of how current U.S. accounting standards were derived and where we might be headed in the future.

Business Plans Handbook

Actual business plans compiled by, and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure and compose business plans.

Effective Project Management

Comprehensive guide to project management. Examines traditional, agile, and extreme project management techniques; contains case studies.

Gale Business Insights Handbooks of Social Media Marketing

Examines the questions What is social media marketing and How can it be used in my business? This volume focuses on building an internal business case for using social media, highlighting its importance, the benefits it can provide, and how to implement a successful strategy and measure its effectiveness.

The Oxford Handbook of Management Ideas

Management ideas, and their associated applications, have become a prevalent feature of our working lives. While their focus is familiar, such as efficiency, motivation, and improvement, they range from specific notions such as activity-based costing, to broad movements like corporate socialresponsibility. This Handbook brings together some of the latest research from leading international scholars on how management ideas are produced, promoted, and adapted, and their effects on business and working practices and society at large.Rather than focusing on specific management ideas, this volume explores their key socio-political contexts and channels of dissemination, and is organized around four core overlapping themes. The first section sets out the research field in general, in terms of both an overall system and ofdifferent perspectives and research methods. The second section explores the role of different actors and channels of diffusion, including the consumers and producers of management ideas and "new" media, as well as traditional players in the management ideas field such as consultancies and businessschools. The third section focuses on specific features or dynamics of the management ideas system, such as their adoption, evolution, institutionalisation, and resurgence, while in the final section, critical and new perspectives on management ideas are examined, highlighting specificsocio-political contexts and the possibility of alternative ideas and forms of critique.With a broad range of perspectives represented, this Handbook provides a comprehensive, authoritative, and enduring resource for those studying management, innovation, and organizational change, as well as for those working in the management ideas industry.

York College of Pennsylvania, 441 Country Club Road York, PA 17403-3651 (717) 846-7788 Copyright © 2018