LibGuides: Nursing & Allied Health: Articles/Databases

Nursing Research

Databases collect articles and other sources for you to use in research.

In the field of nursing, the information we often need more detailed and specific. More advanced nursing often even uses a specific type of research called PICO.

PICO Questions and Medical Keywords In this tutorial we will be talking about how to use Cochrane Library to refine PICO questions with medical terminology.
Nursing Research Tutorial In this tutorial, we'll learn to to use nursing databases like CINHAL filter our search results, and save citation information.

What is the PICO Process?
This is a PICO handout created by EBSCOHOST for use with their Nursing databases.

Recommended Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Nursing & allied health research database covering 700+ full-text journals and citations for many other journals.Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Suite of databases with clinical trials, systematic reviews, & other medical research studies to support evidence-based health care
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Nursing & allied health database providing articles from 550 scholarly full text journals. Includes the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window Authoritative articles on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary, medicine, and other health-related topics.
OVID (Nursing & Medicine) This link opens in a new window Scholarly nursing & medical journals
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window Full-text journal articles published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window American Psychological Association’s database of citations & abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science & mental health. Some citations link to full-text. Journal coverage: 1800s - present. Records and summaries date as far back as the 1600s.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Citation database of biomedical & life science journal articles & online books; Some citations link to full-text

A-Z Databases Click here to see our full list of databases along with descriptions and filters to find the ones that fit your research.
Our Journals List - Health Sciences
Our Journals List - Nursing
Fixing Common Database Issues Got a link to something in our databases that doesn't work? Follow these steps to troubleshoot and resolve the issue: 1. Log into MyYCP 2. Search for the title of your source in Summon. 3. Switch browsers (Chrome and Firefox work best) 4. Make sure the URL for your link begins with "https://ezproxy.ycp.edu:8443/login?url=" (without quotes). Otherwise, contact a librarian for more help at: https://Library.YCP.edu/Ask

York College of Pennsylvania, Schmidt Library

Nursing & Allied Health

Nursing Research

Recommended Databases

Recommended Journals